President and CEOOfficers of the CorporationBoard of TrusteesLeadership CouncilHistory
Managing DiabetesChildhood DiabetesNutritionExerciseOnline Diabetes ClassesDiscussion BoardsInfo for Healthcare ProfessionalsJoslin Clinical Guidelines50-Year Medalist Program
Adult ClinicPediatricsEye CareBillingInfo for Healthcare ProfessionalsDiabetes Information & Resources
50-Year Medalist StudyClinical Research
Media RelationsNews ReleasesInside JoslinSocial Media
Affiliated CentersPharma & DeviceCorporate EducationPublicationsProfessional EducationInternational
Give NowGet InvolvedEventsTributes & Special OccasionsCorporate & Foundation EngagementLegacy GivingWays to GivePhilanthropy TeamPublications

Joslin International Symposium on Diabetes

Thank you to all who attended the event! It was a wonderful mix of cutting-edge scientific presentations, shared memories of working in the Kahn lab, and reunion with old friends and colleagues.

In addition, we regret the omission of the bio and abstract of Dr. Gökhan Hotamisligil in the program guide. A pdf of the updated program guide can be found and downloaded here.

We hope you enjoy the photos, taken by I-Hsien Wu. Visit the Joslin Diabetes Center Flickr page to see more photos from the Symposium.

C. Ronald Kahn Distinguished Lectureship*
We gratefully acknowledge the generosity of the many contributors to the C. Ronald Kahn Distinguished Lectureship. Thank you for joining us in honoring a special individual whose dedication to the study of diabetes over 40 years has had a remarkable impact on the scientific community and on individuals with diabetes and its complications worldwide.

Current and Previous Fellows
and Mentees

David Antonetti, PhD
Eiichi Araki, MD, PhD
Mandeep Bajaj, MD, FRCP
Sudha Biddinger, MD, PhD
  and Paul Biddinger, MD
Matthias Blüher, MD
Bentley Cheatham, PhD
Lihong Chen, MD, PhD
  and Lei Zeh, PhD
Lee-Ming Chuang, MD, PhD
Aaron Cypess, MD, PhD
Brice Emanuelli, PhD
Mathias Fasshauer, PhD
Heather Ferris, MD, PhD
  and Jay Lester
Simon Fisher, MD, PhD
Jeffrey Flier, MD
  and Eleftheria Maratos-Flier, MD
Franco Folli, MD, PhD
  and Tara Zoll Folli
Allison Goldfine, MD
Barry Goldstein, MD, PhD
  and Susan Wiegers, MD
H. Joseph Goren, PhD
  and Frances Goren
Naotake Hashimoto, MD, PhD
Dieter Horsch, MD
Ishwarlal Jialal, MD, PhD
F. Anders Karlsson, MD
Masato Kasuga, MD, PhD
George L. King, MD
  and Diana King
Johannes Klein, MD
Tatsuya Kondo, MD, PhD
  and Tomoko Kondon
Rohit Kulkarni, MD, PhD
Palle Laustsen, PhD
Sora Ludwig, MD
Yazmin Macotela, PhD
Jocelyne Magré, PhD
Franck Mauvais-Jarvis, MD, PhD
Mervyn D. Michael II, PhD
Pal R. Njolstad, MD
C. Kent Osborne, MD
  and Carolina Gutierrez, MD
Mary-Elizabeth Patti, MD
Oluf Pedersen, MD, DMSci

Robert Ratner, MD
  and Nan Ratner
S. Sethu Reddy, MD
  and Lalitha Reddy
Christine Reynet, PhD
Michael Ristow, MD
Mario Jose Saad, MD, PhD
Steven Shoelson, MD, PhD
Kenneth Siddle, MD, PhD
Veronica Catanese Slater, MD, PhD
Victoria Rotter Sopasakis, PhD
Ayako and Ryo Suzuki, MD, PhD
Thomas Thomou, PhD
Yu-Hua Tseng, PhD
  and Shang-Sheng Lis, PhD
Kohjiro Ueki, MD, PhD
Eric Verdin, MD, PhD
Cecile Vernochet, PhD
David Vicent, MD, PhD
Antti Virkamäki, MD, PhD
Peter Wilden, PhD
Jonathan Winnay, PhD
Kazunori Yamada, MD
Yuji Yamamoto, MD, PhD
Vijay Yechoor, MD
Jianwei Zhu, PhD
Ariel Zisman, MD

Friends and Family
Christie Allan-Piper
Ronald Arky, MD
Carol and Marc Bard
Nir Barzilai, MD
Cynthia and Leonard Bogorad
Robert Bruce
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Mrs. Bronson H. Fargo
Brenda and Harvey Freishtat
GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals
Vivian and Phillip Gorden, MD
Augusta and Ben Jacobs, MD
Jane and Arnold Kahn
Barbara Kahn, MD
Bernice and Richard Levy
The Hon. Romano Mazzoli
Merck Partnerships for Matching Gifts
Novo Nordisk
Pfizer Matching Gift Program

Lawrence Rand, MD
  and Arlene Rand
Harriet Robbins
Marci Rosenberg, Esq.
  and Alex Wallach
Loren and James Rosenzweig, MD
Susan and Jesse Roth, MD, FACP
Sandra and Neil Ruderman, MD
Ellen Sax and Martin Aronson
Janed Sax, PhD and Richard Sax, MD
Cheryl and Arthur Sober, MD
Susan Stoddart and Chris Snook
Lynn Taussig, MD
Leona and Stewart Wolfson
Barbara and William T. Young, Jr.

Joslin Faculty and Colleagues
Martin Abrahamson, MD
  and Sharon Abrahamson
T. Keith Blackwell, MD, PhD
  and Sandra Burchett, MD
Alessandro Doria, PhD
  and Chiara Gerhardinger, PhD
Edward Feener, PhD
Om Ganda, MD
Judith and Thomas Goodwin
Laurie Goodyear, PhD
Edward S. Horton, MD
  and Elizabeth Horton
William Hsu, MD and Kelly Hsuv
Andrzej Krolewski, MD, PhD
  and Bozena Krolewski, PhD
Lori Laffel, MD
Mary Loeken, PhD
Aldo Rossini, MD and Ann Rossini
Katie Weinger, EdD, RN, FAADE
Gordon Weir, MD
  and Susan Bonner-Weir, PhD
Howard Wolpert, MD
  and Myra Lipes, MD
Peng Yi, PhD and Wei Zhang

* As of November 19, 2013

Finally, if you would like to claim CME credit for all of part of the Symposium, please take the online evaluation.

Page last updated: May 24, 2018