President and CEOOfficers of the CorporationBoard of TrusteesLeadership CouncilHistory
Managing DiabetesChildhood DiabetesNutritionExerciseOnline Diabetes ClassesDiscussion BoardsInfo for Healthcare ProfessionalsJoslin Clinical Guidelines50-Year Medalist Program
Adult ClinicPediatricsEye CareBillingInfo for Healthcare ProfessionalsDiabetes Information & Resources
Clinical Research50-Year Medalist Study
Media RelationsNews ReleasesInside JoslinSocial Media
Affiliated CentersPharma & DeviceCorporate EducationPublicationsProfessional EducationInternational
Give NowGet InvolvedEventsTributes & Special OccasionsCorporate & Foundation EngagementLegacy GivingWays to GivePhilanthropy TeamPublications

Lloyd Paul Aiello Becomes Professor of Ophthalmology

Lloyd Paul Aiello, M.D., Ph.D., of Joslin Diabetes Center

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Lloyd Paul Aiello, M.D., Ph.D., head of the Beetham Eye Institute at the Joslin Diabetes Center, has been promoted to the rank of Professor of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School.

Following his Ophthalmology Residency at the Wilmer Eye Institute of the Johns Hopkins Medical Center, Dr. Aiello has spent 18 years at the Beetham Eye Institute and the Vascular Cell Biology Section of the Joslin Research Division, where he has distinguished himself as a worldwide leader in both bench and clinical research of diabetic eye disease and clinical care for persons with diabetes.

“His promotion to Professor of Ophthalmology recognizes the important and unique accomplishments that Dr. Lloyd Paul Aiello has made as Director of the Beetham Eye Institute, as an internationally recognized researcher in diabetic eye disease, as inaugural chair of the National Eye Institute Diabetic Retinopathy Clinical Research Network (which currently includes more than 200 centers nationwide), and as a leader in understanding the biochemical basis of diabetic retinopathy,” commented George King, M.D., Joslin’s Chief Scientific Officer. 



Lloyd Paul Aiello of Joslin Diabetes Center

Page last updated: June 19, 2019