Packed house in a Research Seminar

The Joslin Enrichment Program facilitates the exchange of research information and discussions among investigators, fellows, and students within the Joslin Diabetes Center, as well as between Joslin staff and outside researchers with similar interests.
 

Program Components

The Longwood Area Diabetes/Metabolism Research Seminar Series (Thursday seminars) consists of weekly research seminars featuring invited external scientists. In addition, five named lectureships (Michael Brownlee Visiting Professor Lectureship in Diabetes Research, Ray A. and Robert L. Kroc Lectureship on Diabetes, Priscilla White Lectureship on Metabolism, Alexander Marble Lectureship on Diabetes and the C. Ronald Kahn Distinguished Lectureship) highlight the work of exceptional scientists. In addition, a weekly internal research seminar series (Tuesday seminars) serves as a platform for senior postdoctoral research fellows and investigators to share their ongoing research with others at the Joslin. See below for the Diabetes and Metabolism Research Seminar Series dates and speakers.

A clinical and translational seminar series features external and internal speakers and case presentations arising from the clinical practice experience in the Longwood Medical Area.

A summer seminar series given by DRC core directors as well as outside experts raises awareness of the services provided by each core and to introduce new technologies, an effort that enhances research at Joslin.

Joslin investigators give a series of presentations to the students participating in the Joslin Summer Research Student Internship Program to familiarize them with diabetes research inside and outside the Joslin.

Every two years, Joslin holds a two-day Research Retreat to foster interactions and the exchange of ideas among Joslin researchers.

Upcoming Seminars


Tuesday, November 3, 2020
No seminar (Election date)
 

Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Laurie Goodyear, Ph.D., M.S.
 

Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Yaling Tang (Doria)
 

Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Elvira Isganaitis, M.D., MPH
 

Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Katsuhito Ihara (Krolewski Lab)
 

Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Braden Tierney(Kostic Lab)
 

Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Diversity Inclusion (Att: C.Clarke)
 

Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Sevim Kahraman Dirice (Kulkarni Lab)
 

Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Stephan Kissler, Ph.D.
 

Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Ronald Kahn, M.D.
 

Tuesday, January 26, 2021
Kaushal, Tara (Laffel Lab)
 

Tuesday, February 2, 2021
RCR seminar
 

Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Jan-Willem Middelbeek (Goodyear Lab)
 

Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Alessandro Doria, M.D., Ph.D., MPH
 

Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Dario DeJesus (Kulkarni Lab)
 

Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Speaker, TBD (Blackwell Lab)
 

Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Monika Niewczas, M.D., Ph.D., MPH
 

Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Vissarion Efthymiou (Patti)
 

Tuesday, March 23, 2021
Zaipul Md Dom (Krolewski)
 

Tuesday, March 30, 2021
Sarah Lessard, Ph.D.
 

Tuesday, April 6, 2021
Maria Vamvini (Goodyear Lab)
 

Tuesday, April 13, 2021
Hirofumi Nagao (Kahn)
 

Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Tadataka Tsuji (Tseng)
 

Tuesday, April 27, 2021
Sampani, Konstantina (Sun)
 

Tuesday, May 4, 2021
Cristina Aguayo-Mazzucato, M.D., Ph.D.
 

Tuesday, May 11, 2021
RCR seminar
 

Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Shapira, Amit (Laffel)
 

Tuesday, May 25, 2021
Mary-Elizabeth Patti, M.D.

Upcoming Seminars

Thursday, October 29, 2020
"Nutrient sensing by the brain
"
Sabrina Diano, PhD
Columbia University


Thursday, November 5, 2020
Manolis Kellis, PhD
MIT


Thursday, November 12, 2020
Ray A. and Robert L. Kroc Lectureship on Diabetes
Alan Saltiel, PhD
UC San Diego
 

Thursday, November 19, 2020
Raghu G. Mirmira, MD, PhD
University of Chicago
 

Thursday, November 26, 2020
Thanksgiving - No Seminar 
 

Thursday, December 3, 2020
Matthias Kretzler, MD
University of Michigan
 

Thursday, December 10, 2020
Dr. Michael Brownlee Visiting Professor Lectureship in Diabetes Research
Deborah Muoio, PhD
Duke University
 

Thursday, December 17, 2020
William Giannobile, DDS, MS, DMSc
University of Michigan
Harvard School of Dental Medicine, as of 9/1